A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide politics in vellore

Political Scenario in Vellore

Vellore is a Lok Sabha Constituency in the state of Tamil Nadu and one of the 39 parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu. In 2007, the number of Assembly constituencies in Vellore district increased to 13 (earlier it was 12), after delimitation by Election Commission of India. However, for Tiruvannamalai district, it was reduced from nine to eight. Names of a few Lok Sabha Constituencies have even been changed. New constituencies have been carved out by reorganization of already existing Assembly Segments. For instance, Vellore district comprises of two Lok Sabha Constituencies with 6 Assembly Segments each.

Any individual who is a citizen of India and above 18 years of age can vote.  There is no distinction between male or female voters in the constitution. Earlier, the voting age was 21 years. If an NRI is an Indian Citizen, residing in any constituency, employed under Govt. of India (even if posted overseas), he/she can register name as a voter.

Vellore Parliamentary Constituency Election 2014 Dates

Issue of Notification: 29 March
Last Date for filing Nominations: 5 April
Scrutiny of Nominations: 7 April (Monday)
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature: 9 April
Polling Date: 24 April
Counting of Votes: 16 May
Date before which the election shall be Completed: 28 May

Winning MPs from Vellore Lok Sabha Constituency

1971: R. P. Ulaganambi M (DMK)
1977: Dhandayuthapani V.( NCO)
1980: Abdul Samad A.K.A. (IND)
1984: A.C. Shanmugam (ADK
1991: Akber Pasha B (INC)
1996: Shanmugam.P (DML)
1998: Shanmugam N.T. (PMK)
1999: Shanmugam, N.T.(PMK)
2004: Kader Mohideen, K.M (DMK)
2009: Abdul Rahman,Shri (DMK)

Political Scenario in Vellore

Assembly Constituencies in Vellore Parliamentary Constituency are Vellore, Anaikattu, K.V. Kuppam (SC), Gudiyattam (SC),Vaniyambadi and  Ambur.
C M Dr Jayalalitha
Dr. Selvi J.Jayalalithaa is the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and she is responsible for overseeing and general administration of various departments such as police, IT, Minorities Welfare, industries etc. This is her fourth tenure as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. She belongs to AIADMK party (All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam). Dr. Selvi J. Jayalalithaa is known as 'Amma' by people and also as 'Puratchi Thalaivi' (Revolutionary Leader) by supporters. Dr. Selvi J. Jayalalithaa was born on 24th February, 1948 in Mysore (Karnataka).

Finance minister Prof. K. Anbazhagan has the responsibility for administering departments such as Planning, Finance, Legislative Assembly and also Elections. Tamil Nadu Governor Konijeti Rosaiah has been the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Various Political Parties in Vellore

  • AIADMK: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • DMDK: Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam
  • DMK: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • CPI(M): Communist Party of India (Marxist)
  • CPI: Communist Party of India
  • INC : Indian National Congress
  • PMK:  Pattali Makkal Katchi
  • PT: Puthiya Tamilagam
  • MMK: Manithaneya Makkal Katchi 
  • AIFB: All India Forward Block

Explore more about Administration in Vellore

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries